He Is Love

a6952b70160ef52815876bbbdfc16dd8

People are flawed and imperfect. They can be selfish. They can be selfless, too. All of that to say that, in spite of human failings, I believe that there is absolutely no power bigger or more transformative than love.

Love is the source of goodness in anyone.

Selflessness? Love.

Patience? Love.

Compassion? Love.

And, to further drive my argument home, God is Love. Of course there’s nothing more powerful or big than God.

I am so comforted by that. I am so comforted to know that, no matter what life brings, love wins. Always. Maybe we won’t see evidence of that in the moment, but in the end? Love gets the final word.

Last night I was driving home and I was awe-struck by the sunset. Behind me, liquid-y sunshine in a pale blue sky. Before me, pillars of fluffy pink clouds, stretching from earth up towards the moon.

And in that moment, I thought about how it is said that “they will see The Son Of Man coming in clouds with great power and glory” (Mark 13:26). I know God’s plan and timing is perfect, but I hope Jesus chooses to return when the sky looks at least as magical as it did last night.

That said, how could I, for even two seconds, doubt that God is in control, that He holds the whole world in His hands? How laughably illogical to profess that yes, last night’s sunset and tomorrow’s sunrise are courtesy of Him. But my heart? My tangled emotions? Those things are beyond His ability. In fact, they will only stand a chance of being resolved if I worry about them late into the night and sacrifice sleep and laughter and sanity and joy, trying to juggle the what-ifs. (*eye roll*)

The belief that He created the world, and me, and that my life is too complex for Him, it’s not really a theology problem. It’s not even a matter of being uncertain of God’s power. What it’s a matter of is being uncertain of God’s presence, His desire to work things together for good in my life, His LOVE for me.

I am aware that God loves me more than I can even fathom, but then I somehow think that I can take His unfathomably large love for me and say what it would “should” look like. It’s so arrogant of me to think that His love needs to look a certain way to me. To ME! To my pathetic, narrow, limited, human perspective!

“So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him” (Matthew 7:11).

I know He loves me. And I know He is present. And I have to just trust in that and rely in that, regardless of how life looks or how I feel. Truth doesn’t change. Truth is a constant. God is the same yesterday, today, and forever. Always, He was and is and will be Love.

3 thoughts on “He Is Love

  1. Your Book is Growing Deeper and Fuller and More Empowered with His Joyful STRENGTH in You. Thank You Precious Daughter And Princess of Thee Very KING of All KINGS.

Leave a Reply

