Plans

Lord, free me from the obligation of having back-up plans. Free me from worrying myself into creating an option C, D, E…

I have no plan, Lord. It’s out of my hands. I can go to work and be kind and love people and spend time with You and be financially responsible and take care of myself, yes, but when it comes to connecting the dots and creating a life that is full and complete, that’s beyond the scope of my abilities.

The things I want are beyond my ability to will into my life, and the things I actually need are somewhat of a mystery to me. I think I know what I need, but I don’t. Not really. You do, however. Lord, You know. And You promise to meet our needs. How blessed we are. Help me to live in the comfort and knowledge that You are always working and our needs are no mystery to You. You delight to give good gifts to Your children!

Even when my emotions and heart puzzle me and exhaust me and I find myself in the habit of napping more days than not, You are not confused. I am not mysterious to you. Thank You that You know me, Lord.

Thank You also that I don’t have to have all the answers. I don’t have to have a plan or a back-up plan. My plan is You, Lord. Follow You, love You, trust You. Help my faith in Your ability to orchestrate a beautiful life for me be so firm and unshakeable that the concept of a back-up plan baffles me. I only have one plan, Lord. My plan is to trust that You will come through for me. And You will! Just as You always have.

Whatever You give or take away, Lord, help me to praise Your name, knowing that You don’t make mistakes and You are good. Even when life is confusing or feels unfair, help me never to question Your character. Life is too scary and unpredictable to go through it without trusting You completely. Lord, I trust You. I trust You. I trust You.

Help me to trust You.

And, Lord? One more thing? More of You. Please. I am never not desperate for even more of You.

Whatever You give, Lord, however You bless me, never let other blessings compare to the blessing of Your presence in my life. Help that cup, Lord, always be filled to overflowing. I can do without in other areas of my life, but I need You. Of all that I want and think I need, nothing compares to my need for You.

And when You take? Lord, more of You then too. Let Your love and presence fill the gaps in my life and mend the broken places within me.

More of you, Lord. More of you.

I am Yours and You are mine. And I am so, so rich. Forever and ever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

