Father’s Day

I was minding my own business.

I was sitting during worship, nursing a cup of tea, feeling just fine.

And then I started weeping.

It started with this line: “Then bursting forth in glorious Day…”

I’ve heard it a million times, but there, as I sat completely unsuspecting of what was to come, suddenly something inside of me felt that light- the light of His overcoming death, the light of His being with us, the light of Him calling me His own.

And I wept.

And when I asked myself what was behind the tears, I found this sentence repeating itself in my head: “No one will ever love me like You do.”

And for once, that thought didn’t feel terrifying and lonely; I felt grateful. Held and safe and in awe of the God who promises to never leave me.

I don’t know if I’ve ever cried from a place of wonder at how He loves me. I don’t know if I’ve ever cried with gratitude.

Oh, how it hurts, this life.

Oh, how held I am in the midst of it.

And so, after I prayed over my heart during our first song: “Bless the Lord, O my soul…”,
after I came to Him honest and broken and admitting I don’t love Him the way I should,
after I asked Him to help me love Him,
after I sang about how He rose from the grave,
after I felt the lightness of Him invade my soul and fill me up with a sense of being deeply loved,
after I wondered at the tears pouring down my face…

After all of that, I realized, it’s Father’s Day.

And I’m still Someone’s little girl.

One thought on “Father’s Day

  1. I am crying Now….Because you Again Wrote With The Amazing Grace and Beauty of One With a deeper Understanding and Experiencing of LOVE…..Just as You have Known the depth of despair
    You Are Enabled to Share your Experience of That ‘Greater Love” of Our Father…Who Loves us Wayyyy Beyond Reason.
    Thank you Again…. I, too cry because of HIs Touch, His Words, His Reminders of His Personal LOVE Just for me….It is as if The Emotion I Experience Overwhelms me and all I can Do is release it with tears…And I Feel Safe, and Free Knowing He Knows all of what I would say if I could speak..

Leave a Reply

